↑ Return to MODELS

Snow model

The CemaNeige snow module was implemented to improve discharge modelling at the outlet of snow-influenced catchments.

CemaNeige is a module taking into account snow with 2 parameters that was developed specifically for hydrological modelling. It was set up during the PhD work of Valéry (2010).

CemaNeige allows simulating the evolution of snow cover on a catchment, and estimating its melt. The module was tested with several lumped hydrological models functioning in a simulation mode, including the GR4J model, and with the GRP prediction model functioning at a daily time step (Nicolle, 2010).

The functioning of CemaNeige on a single time step is described in the following:

  • First, a discretisation of the basin into five elevation zones with equal areas is realised. This allows taking into account orographic gradients and permits a differenciated evolution of the snow cover regarding the altitude.
Courbe hypsométrique et discrétisation spatiale en 5 bandes d'altitude (exemple du bassin de la Bourne aux Jarrands (Source: Nicolle, 2010).

Hypsometric curve and spatial discretisation into 5 altitude bands. Example for the Bourne aux Jarrands catchment (Source: Nicolle, 2010).

  • Then, the input data are extrapolated for each elevation zone noted z. The snow module uses as an input only precipitation and temperature data. A transformation of the basin precipitation is done, according to a formula making use of a constant altitude correction factor. The average catchment temperatures are also extrapolated using an altitude gradient that can vary regarding the d day that is considered.
  • The snow module then proceeds to the differenciation of liquid and solid precipitation, according to the median altitude of each elevation zone for the considered catchment.
  • In each elevation zone, the snow is stored within a conceptual store that represents the snow cover of this elevation zone. This reservoir is only fed by the solid part of precipitation. The snow cover presents a thermic state that allows delaying the triggering of snow melt.
  • A transfer function allows calculating the melted water that comes from the snow store and flows, and will then be integrated to the hydrological model, in addition to the liquid part of precipitation. The module starts with calculating the potential melted water (maximal snow quantity that can melt) according to a degree-day method, from the thermic state of the snow cover and from the temperature. The effective melt (the actual quantity of melted snow) depends on several factors: the previously calculated potential melt, the snow-covered surface and the minimal melt speed when the storage is very low. The quantity of melted snow is then substracted from the snow store for updating it.
  • Finally, the quantity of water transmitted to the hydrological model contains the liquid fraction previously determined, to which the melted water is added.

CemaNeige has two free parameters that need to be calibrated:

  • CTG, the ponderation coefficient (no dimension) of the snow thermic state, between 0 and 1,
  • Kf, the degree-day factor (in mm.°C-1), generally between 2 and 6 mm.°C-1.
Structure and equations of an altitude band of CemaNeige. (Valéry, 2010)

Structure and equations of an altitude band of CemaNeige. (Valéry, 2010)

The CemaNeige module implemented in Excel can be downloaded here. CemaNeige is also available in the R-package airGR.

To know more: check our publications.

↑ Revenir à MODELES

Modèle de neige

Le module neige CemaNeige a été implémenté pour améliorer la modélisation des débits à l’exutoire des bassins versants influencés par la neige.

Cemaneige est un module de prise en compte de la neige à 2 paramètres développé pour la modélisation hydrologique. Il a été mis au point dans les travaux de thèse de Valéry (2010).

Cemaneige permet de simuler l’évolution du couvert neigeux sur un bassin versant, et d’en estimer la fonte. Le module a été testé avec plusieurs modèles hydrologiques globaux fonctionnant en simulation, dont le modèle GR4J, et avec le modèle de prévision GRP fonctionnant au pas de temps journalier (Nicolle, 2010).

Le fonctionnement de CemaNeige sur un pas de temps est le suivant :

  • Dans un premier temps, une discrétisation du bassin en cinq zones altitudinales d’égales surfaces est réalisée. Cela permet de tenir compte des gradients orographiques et permet une évolution différenciée du manteau neigeux en fonction de l’altitude.
Courbe hypsométrique et discrétisation spatiale en 5 bandes d'altitude (exemple du bassin de la Bourne aux Jarrands (Source: Nicolle, 2010).

Courbe hypsométrique et discrétisation spatiale en 5 bandes d’altitude. Exemple du bassin de la Bourne aux Jarrands (Source: Nicolle, 2010).

  • Ensuite, les données d’entrée sont extrapolées à chaque bande d’altitude notée z. Le module neige n’utilise comme données d’entrée que les précipitations et la température. Une transformation de la précipitation de bassin est effectuée, selon une formule faisant intervenir un facteur de correction altitudinal constant. Les températures moyennes du bassin sont également extrapolées en s’appuyant sur un gradient altitudinal qui peut varier selon le jour j considéré.
  • Le module neige procède ensuite à la différenciation des précipitations liquides et solides, suivant l’altitude médiane du bassin versant considéré pour chaque bande d’altitude.
  • Dans chaque bande d’altitude, la neige est stockée au sein d’un réservoir conceptuel qui représente le manteau neigeux de la bande d’altitude. Ce réservoir est alimenté uniquement par la fraction solide des précipitations. Le manteau neigeux présente un état thermique qui permet de retarder le déclenchement de la fonte.
  • Une fonction de transfert permet de calculer la lame de fonte écoulée, issue du stock de neige, qui va être intégrée au modèle hydrologique, en plus de la fraction liquide des précipitations. Le module commence par calculer une lame de fonte potentielle (quantité maximale de neige susceptible de fondre) selon la méthode degrés-jour, à partir de l’état thermique du manteau et de la température. La fonte effective (la quantité réelle de neige qui fond) dépend de plusieurs facteurs : la fonte potentielle calculée précédemment, la surface enneigée et la vitesse de fonte minimum quand le stock est très faible. La quantité de neige fondue est ensuite soustraite au réservoir de neige pour l’actualiser.
  • Enfin, la lame d’eau transmise au modèle hydrologique comprend la fraction liquide déterminée précédemment, à laquelle est ajoutée la lame de fonte.

Cemaneige a deux paramètres libres à caler  :

  • CTG, le coefficient de pondération (adimensionnel) de l’état thermique du manteau, compris entre 0 et 1,
  • Kf, le facteur degré-jour (en mm.°C-1), généralement compris entre 2 et 6 mm.°C-1.
Structure et équations d'une bande d'altitude de Cemaneige. (Coron, 2013;Valéry, 2010)

Structure et équations d’une bande d’altitude de CemaNeige. (Valéry, 2010)

Le module CemaNeige en Excel est disponible ici. CemaNeige est aussi inclus dans le package R airGR.

Pour en savoir plus : voir nos publications.