Return to Ongoing projects

IMPREX – H2020

Imprex-Notagline-cmykThe IMPREX project: IMproving PRedictions and management of hydrological Extremes

Learn from today to anticipate tomorrow

Website: http://imprex.eu/

Imprex Leaflet

Irstea documents available to download:

  • Poster-IMPREX-SHF

    Manon Cassagnole & Maria-Helena Ramos @ SHF HydroES, 16-17/03/2016, Grenoble

    Poster and communication on “Weather and climate services for hydropower management”, SHF HydroES conference, 16-17/03/2016, Grenoble (France) (contribution to WP8)

______________________________________________

IMPREX is an EU Research and Innovation project funded under the Horizon 2020 program.

IMPREX is based on the philosophy that understanding present-day risks is an effective starting point for adapting to unprecedented future events. Taking into account potential climate trajectories and a collection of experiences in various vulnerable water-related sectors, IMPREX will put current management decisions and practices in the context of an emergent future. In addition, the way in which current operational forecasts of potentially high-impact events at various time scales are utilized can still be improved, not only by enhancing the forecasting skill, but also by customizing the information to the stakeholders’ needs, practice and decision context.

Different decisions are taken at different time scales. Hydrological extremes at short-to-medium time scales may trigger an emergency response, but an expected systematic change in the occurrence frequency of these events is what will guide long-term decisions on, for instance, infrastructure design or financial arrangements.

For a better anticipation on future high impact hydrological extremes disrupting safety of citizens, agricultural production, transportation, energy production and urban water supply, and overall economic productivity, prediction and foresighting capabilities and their intake in these strategic sectors need to be improved. IMPREX uses current operational hydro-meteorological forecasting systems at short-to-medium and seasonal range coupled to core sectoral applications of different water resource management organisations as a starting point. Improvements to these forecasting systems are expected to have an immediate impact on the daily practice of water management.

The core elements of IMPREX consist of three interconnected science- and user-oriented actions:

  • improvement in the forecasting and foresighting tools and climatologies of hydrological extremes,
  • application of these developments in the daily practice of stakeholders across different sectors and regions, 
  • dissemination of the experience gained from the sectoral impact analyses to a wider audience by means of user-friendly assessment summaries of impact and adaptation strategies, periodic risk outlooks and bulletins for public communication.

Funding: Europe H2020

Coordinator: Royal Netherlands Meteorological Institute, The Netherlands

Partners: 23 European organizations

Start: 01 October 2015

Duration: 4 years

Role of Irstea: Irstea (Antony) is the leader of the work-package ‘Hydropower’, where four European partners will study the impact of a better forecasting of hydrological extremes on hydroelectricity production. Four pilot sites in Europe (Italy, France, Spain and Sweden) compose this work-package. In France, Irstea will work in collaboration with EDF DTG Grenoble. We will investigate a decision model based on a heuristic optimisation of energy production to provide insights on how economic gains may vary according to input variability and reservoir operation constraints. In IMPREX, Irstea also contributes to the work-package “Improved predictability of hydrological extremes”, led by ECMWF, the European Center for Medium Range Weather Forecasting

Contact @Irstea Antony: Maria-Helena Ramos

Revenir à Projets en cours

IMPREX – H2020

Imprex-Notagline-cmykLe projet IMPREX : IMproving PRedictions and management of hydrological Extremes (Améliorer les prévisions et la gestion des extrêmes hydrologiques)

Apprendre d’aujourd’hui pour anticiper demain

Site web : http://imprex.eu/

Imprex Leaflet

Documents Irstea disponibles pour téléchargement :

  • Poster-IMPREX-SHF

    Manon Cassagnole & Maria-Helena Ramos @ SHF HydroES, 16-17/03/2016, Grenoble

    Poster et communication « Services météorologiques et climatiques pour la gestion hydroélectrique », Conférence SHF HydroES, 16-17/03/2016, Grenoble (France), en anglais (contribution au WP8)

______________________________________________
IMPREX est un projet de recherche et d’innovation de l’Union Européenne financé dans le cadre du programme Horizon 2020.

IMPREX se base sur la philosophie que comprendre les risques actuels est un point de départ efficace pour l’adaptation aux évènements futurs inédits. En prenant en compte les trajectoires climatiques potentielles et un ensemble d’expériences dans divers secteurs vulnérables liés à l’eau, IMPREX mettra les décisions de gestion et les pratiques actuelles dans un contexte futur. De plus, la manière dont les prévisions opérationnelles actuelles d’évènements potentiellement à fort impact à des échelles temporelles variées sont utilisées peut être améliorée, non seulement en améliorant la performance des prévisions, mais aussi en adaptant l’information aux besoins, pratique et contexte de décision des parties prenantes.

Différentes décisions sont prises à différents pas de temps. Les extrêmes hydrologiques à courte ou moyenne échelle peuvent déclencher une réponse d’urgence, mais un changement systématique attendu dans la fréquence d’occurrence de ces évènements est ce qui guide les décisions sur le long terme sur, par exemple, la conception des infrastructures ou les arrangements financiers.

Pour une meilleure anticipation des futurs impacts des extrêmes hydrologiques perturbant la sécurité des citoyens, la production agricole, le transport, la production énergétique et l’approvisionnement en eau urbaine et la productivité économique globale, les capacités de prévision et d’anticipation et leur apport dans ces secteurs stratégiques ont besoin d’être améliorés. IMPREX utilise comme point de départ les systèmes opérationnels actuels de prévisions hydro-météorologiques à des échéances à court et moyen terme et saisonnière, de manière couplée avec des applications sectorielles fondamentales de différentes organisations de gestion de la ressource en eau. Des améliorations de ces systèmes de prévision auront ainsi un impact immédiat sur la gestion quotidienne de l’eau. 

Les éléments fondamentaux d’IMPREX consistent en trois actions interconnectées orientées à la fois vers la science et les utilisateurs :

  • amélioration des outils de prévision et d’anticipation, ainsi que des climatologies d’évènements extrêmes,
  • application de ces développements dans la pratique courante des parties prenantes à travers divers secteurs et sites pilote, 
  • dissémination de l’expérience acquise à partir de ces analyses sectorielles d’impact à une plus large audience par le moyen de l’évaluation des stratégies d’impact et d’adaptation, et la mise en place de « outlooks » des risques hydrologiques.

Financement: Europe H2020

Coordinateur : Institut Royal Météorologique des Pays-Bas (KNMI)

Partenaires : 23 organisations européennes

Début : 1er octobre 2015

Durée : 4 ans

Rôle d’Irstea : Irstea (Antony) est le coordinateur du work-package ‘Hydroélectricité’, dans lequel quatre partenaires européens étudient l’impact d’une meilleure prévision des extrêmes hydrologiques sur les systèmes de production d’hydroélectricité. Quatre sites-pilotes en Europe (Italie, France, Espagne et Suède) composent ce groupe de travail. En France, Irstea travaille en collaboration avec EDF DTG Grenoble. Nous investiguons un modèle de décision basé sur une optimisation heuristique de la production d’énergie pour examiner comment les gains économiques peuvent varier en fonction de la variabilité des entrées au système et des contraintes d’opération des réservoirs. Dans IMPREX, Irstea contribue aussi au work-package qui s’intéresse à l’amélioration de la prédictabilité des extrêmes hydrologiques, mené par le CEPMMT/ECMWF (Centre européen pour les prévisions météorologiques à moyen terme).

Contact @Irstea Antony : Maria-Helena Ramos