Return to Ongoing projects

PICS – ANR

PICS: towards Integrated Nowcasting of Flash Flood Impacts

Flash-flood forecasting systems are of crucial importance to mitigate the devastating effects of flash-floods. However, their development has experienced serious challenges, due to the large number of affected catchments, their small surface areas (1 to 500 km²), their very short response times (limited to a few hours), and the limited knowledge concerning exposure and vulnerability of risk-prone areas. In this context, the PICS project proposes a step forward by designing and evaluating integrated forecasting chains capable of anticipating the impacts of flash-floods with a few hours lead-time. This objective will be reached through interactions between an interdisciplinary scientific team of meteorologists, hydrologists, hydraulic engineers, economists, social scientists and operational actors (civil security, local authorities, insurance companies, hydropower companies, transport network operators).

Organization of the PICS project

The integrated short-range forecasting (or nowcasting) chains designed in the project will incorporate the following components: high resolution quantitative precipitation estimates and short range precipitation forecasts (or nowcasts), highly distributed rainfall runoff models designed to simulate river discharges in ungauged conditions, DTM based hydraulic models for the delineation of potentially flooded areas, and finally several impacts models aiming to represent varied socio-economic effects (insurance losses, inundation of critical infrastructures, and also dynamic population exposure and vulnerability).

The project will work towards effectively coupling these various modelling components, evaluating these components in terms of uncertainties and complementarity, and assessing the capacity of these nowcasting chains to meet the needs of end-users.

Funding: Agence Nationale de la Recherche (ANR), Programme 2017

Coordinator: Dr. Olivier Payrastre (Ifsttar)

Partners: Ifsttar, CCR, Cerema, CNRM UMR 3589, Geosciences Rennes UMR 6118, IGE UMR 501, Irstea Centres d’Aix-en-Provence et d’Antony,  MTES-SCHAPI

Start: 1 January 2018

Duration: 4 years (2018 – 2021)

Website : http://pics.ifsttar.fr/

Contacts @Irstea Antony: Maria-Helena Ramos, Charles Perrin

Revenir à Projets en cours

PICS – ANR

PICS : vers une prévision immédiate intégrée des impacts des crues soudaines

La prévision des crues soudaines est d’une importance cruciale pour atténuer les effets dévastateurs de ces crues. Cependant, le développement de systèmes de prévision adaptés rencontre de sérieuses difficultés, en raison du grand nombre de bassins versants concernés, de leurs petites superficies (1 à 500 km²), de leurs très courts temps de réponse aux pluies (limités à quelques heures), et de la connaissance limitée des enjeux exposés. Dans ce contexte, le projet PICS propose une avancée significative, en construisant et évaluant des chaînes intégrées de prévision immédiate capables d’anticiper de quelques heures les crues soudaines et leurs impacts. Cet objectif sera atteint grâce à l’interaction entre des équipes scientifiques aux compétences variées (météorologues, hydrologues, hydrauliciens, économistes, sociologues), et des acteurs opérationnels (sécurité civile, autorités locales, compagnies d’assurance, compagnies d’électricité, opérateurs de réseaux de transport).

Organisation du projet PICS

Les chaînes de prévision conçues dans le projet incorporeront les éléments suivants : des estimations quantitatives de précipitations à haute résolution et des prévisions immédiates de pluie, des modèles pluie-débit distribués conçus adaptés aux petits cours d’eau non jaugés, des modèles hydrauliques pour la délimitation simplifiée des zones potentiellement inondées à partir de modèles numériques de terrain, et enfin plusieurs modèles d’impacts visant à représenter des effets socio-économiques: dommages matériels, inondation d’infrastructures, exposition et vulnérabilité de la population représentées de façon dynamique.

Le projet visera à coupler ces différents modèles, à estimer leurs incertitudes et complémentarité, et à évaluer la capacité des chaînes de prévision proposées à répondre aux besoins des utilisateurs finaux.

Financement : Agence Nationale de la Recherche (ANR), Programme 2017

Coordinateur : Dr. Olivier Payrastre (Ifsttar)

Partenaires : Ifsttar, CCR, Cerema, CNRM UMR 3589, Geosciences Rennes UMR 6118, IGE UMR 501, Irstea Centres d’Aix-en-Provence et d’Antony,  MEEM-SCHAPI

Début : 1 janvier 2018

Durée : 4 ans (2018 – 2021)

Contacts @Irstea Antony : Maria-Helena Ramos, Charles Perrin